Champions League draw

Thomas Tuchel’s side were the surprise winners of the 2020/21 competition, narrowly overcoming Manchester City in the final after superb run through the knockout stages saw them dispose of Atletico Madrid, Porto and Real Madrid.

Here, you can find out everything you need to know about the 2021/22 edition, including what pot every team will be in, when the complete draw will be made, and every match date for the group stages.

The draw for the 2021/22 Champions League proper takes place a day after the play-offs have concluded, on Thursday 26 August.

The 32 teams in the pot will then be split into eight groups of four, with the top two after six games moving forward to the round of 16. The draw for the knockout rounds takes place on 13 December.

Pot 1:  Chelsea, Villarreal, Manchester City, Atletico Madrid, Bayern Munich, Inter, Lille OSC, Sporting CP

Pot 2:  Real Madrid, Barcelona, ​​Juventus, Manchester United, PSG, Liverpool, Sevilla, Borussia Dortmund

Pot 3:  FC Porto, Ajax, RB Leipzig, Atalanta, Zenit St. Petersburg, Benfica, RB Salzburg, Shakhtar Donetsk

Pot 4:  AC Milan, VfL Wolfsburg, Club Brugge, Besiktas, Dynamo Kyiv, Young Boys, Malmo, Sheriff Tiraspol