Barcelona vs Juventus, 2021 Joan Gamper Trophy

It’s time for the 2021 Joan Gamper Trophy! The annual curtain-raiser for the Barcelona season has a big-time opponent this year as Cristiano Ronaldo and Juventus come to town. The Gamper usually takes place at Camp Nou every year, but health authorities wouldn’t allow fans there so this one is happening at the Johan Cruyff Stadium, home of Barça B and the women’s team, in front of around 3,000 fans.

Barcelona players such as Gerard Piqué, Sergi Roberto and Antoine Griezmann, among others, have already begun to say goodbye to Messi, who failed to sign a new contract with Barza, a club that has received him since he was 13 years old.

“Leo (Messi) wanted to stay, we wanted him to stay. The fact that he wanted to stay was decisive, his willingness to want to stay. But this process has reached a time when you have to stand up and leave your emotions out, analyze it with rigor and coldness provided by the numbers. And within LaLiga, we have to embrace this rule, although we think it should have been more flexible. But we knew the rule, we could not comply with the inheritance received “, detailed the President Joan Laporta.

MATCH INFO, HOW TO WATCH

Competition/Round: 2021 Joan Gamper Trophy

Date/Time: Sunday, August 8, 2021, 9.30pm CET (Barcelona), 8.30pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 3.30pm ET, 12.30pm PT (USA), 1am IST (India, Monday)

Venue: Johan Cruyff Stadium, Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain

How to watch on TV: Premier Sports 1 (UK), ESPN Africa (Nigeria), La Sexta (Spain), others

How to watch online: ESPN+ (USA), BarçaTV+ (subscription, worldwide), Premier Player (UK), others